Talk to an agent: (757) 716-7144
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Know Car Insurance Before You Decide To Purchase One

Virginia state car insurance has minimum requirements in regards to obtaining a motor vehicle. There are easy laws and regulations to follow in order to be put on the road. You don’t want to find yourself in an unexpected accident and have absolutely zero coverage. You want to know that you are safe and the insurance company will take care of whatever it needs to.

 Car insurance in Virginia requires a driver to contain at least a little amount of insurance so they are covered. They will be provided with the following: $25,000 for injury liability for one person in an accident, $50,000 for all injuries in an accident, and $20,000 for property damage in liability for one person in an accident. The coverage minimum for a driver is 25/50/20. There are a few very important laws that a driver should be aware of when driving in Virginia. The state of Virginia states that drivers have three options in regards to insurance. When you register your motor vehicle, you have to confirm that the vehicle is insured by a company approved to do business in VA.

According to Virginia auto insurance law, your document must contain the required limits of liability. Also, for uninsured motorist, the $500 UMV (Uninsured Motor Vehicle) fee does not offer any kind of insurance. It only lets the motorist drive an uninsured vehicle at their own peril. The fee is also paid to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This runs out along with your registration and must be paid at renewal. Self insurance or Surety Bonds are particular choices for owners of business motor vehicles. Any details needed by a driver can be located at any DMV office. Also, as an important note, there are Non-Compliance Penalties. In agreement with auto insurance laws in the state of Virginia, motor vehicle owners, if they are uninsured or did not pay the UMV fee, will lose their operator’s license.

In order to get it back, they will have to pay a $500 legal fee, a $30 restoration fee, and file an SR-22 with the department of motor vehicles for three years. This will confirm that they now have insurance. Drivers in Virginia who made the decision to have car insurance will be glad to recognize that average auto insurance rates plunge underneath the national average of $1,440 meanwhile most good drivers pay around $1,230 for each year in payments. Yet, still many drivers pay below the amount by picking out their insurance providers carefully and making sure they receive the finest rates possible. But all in all, it is better to not just merely reach for the less expensive auto insurance rates.

It’s better to figure out the most excellent mixture of coverage, price, and reputation in a company. The state of Virginia does not need all of the drivers to have VA car insurance. Anyone who does not want to pay for car insurance coverage has the alternative of paying a fee of $500 per year to the department of motor vehicles. In doing so, they recognize that their vehicle will be activated at the owner’s own risk.  To comparison shop with other insurance companies, please enter your zip code above.