Talk to an agent: (757) 716-7144
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Basic Information About VA Auto Insurance

There are quite a few intricacies that are associated with VA auto insurance. The thing is that there are many elements that you should know about before actually starting to head out to purchase car insurance in VA. The thing is that prior to purchasing auto insurance in Virginia, it is necessary for you to certify that you have actually purchased the minimum insurance required by the state for your vehicle. If you are unable to do so, the only thing that you would be able to do is pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee. Also, if you are the owner of motor vehicles, thee particular it would be also highly important for you to acquire auto insurance for it. Also, before actually purchasing insurance for your car, it is necessary for you to make sure that the insurance company that you have chosen is completely legitimate and has the authority to carry out its business within your area.

In Virginia, the minimum coverage that is necessarily owned by every single driver out on the road is inclusive of a bodily injury or death coverage for two or more people of about $50,000, bodily injury/death of about one person only of about $25,000, and minimum coverage for property damage of about $20,000. While trying to work out the premium rates that you would be paying, there is not a single doubt that the insurance company is going to give ample consideration to your driving records. On the other hand, just in case you have a few questions that are associated with your auto insurance policy, make sure that you question your VA car insurance agent about it.

There also remains the fact that the fee for uninsured motor vehicles (at $500), is not going to provide you with any insurance at all. However, it is basically meant to just make it possible for you to continue driving on the road even if you are not covered. It is basically going to expire the day your registration ends and it is going to make it necessary for you to pay for this particular element.

Now, what you must also know is the fact that incase the liability insurance coverage in VA that was acquired for a vehicle is cancelled or get terminated within the registration period, you would have the option to either acquire insurance again, or pay the fee for uninsured motor vehicle or just give up the license plates and hand them over to DMV.

Another thing that you should know is that when vehicle owners who do not pay the UMV fee or are uninsured get caught by the authorities, they would have to face severe penalties. For startesr, they would have their vehicle and driving registration suspended immediately. If you wish to get reinstated, it would be necessary for you to pay a $500 statutory fee, file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with DMV for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee, if applicable.

Ensure your personal safety and that of others too by acquiring Virginia car insurance from top providers. If you wish to acquire auto insurance quotes in Virginia for FREE by some of the best providers in your area, just enter your zip code in the box given above!