Talk to an agent: (757) 716-7144
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

How to Take Advantage of Comparing Quotes to Save You Money

If you’re living in Virginia, it is very crucial to have some insurance on your vehicle for many reasons. First of all it’s pretty apparent that the costs of having your own car fixed after an accident can be very costly and sometimes would cost too much to fix for the average person and their income. Auto Insurance in Virginia is also very important because laws in Virginia make it so that the person at fault in an accident is responsible for both vehicles damages when involved in a collision. This could lead to a lot of out of pocket expense for people that do not have any kind of Auto insurance in Virginia and could end up making it very hard on that person to pay for everything that has to be paid for when everything is totaled up from the wreck.

Another reason for purchasing Auto Insurance in Virginia is that you are required by law to carry some kind of insurance and if you’re not then you have to pay the uninsured motorist fee when getting your vehicles tags in Virginia. The costs for this are $500 dollars a year and still do not help you with any of the cost of your car or the other parties vehicle that is damaged in the accident. You will still responsible for all of the expenses of the accident when you have the uninsured motorist fee so it’s not a good idea to just go with that instead of looking into getting yourself some affordable insurance that will cover you in your time of need.

If you choose to not do either of these 2 things after acquiring your tags for your car and you let your insurance lapse or fail to pay your monthly fees for insurance the company will notify the department of motor vehicles and either your tags will be suspended or your license will be suspended which will then make you have to pay very pricey fees to get your car and your license reinstated and back legal for driving in the state of Virginia. The fees that are required to reinstate your vehicle are $145 plus the $500 for the uninsured motorist fee. It’s not hard to realize that this isn’t very cost efficient and isn’t the best way to go when considering insurance for your vehicles.

When trying to find insurance for your motor vehicle you can find exactly what you’re looking for very easily, you can call all the different companies and get quotes from them or you can go online and shop the internet for the kind of insurance that you’re looking for. You are required to carry a certain amount of coverage in your policy but you can also pay for a better coverage so that when something bad happens you are covered more thoroughly. You don’t have to do this and you can just go with the minimum and have everything you need to help with all the expenses of the accident. It’s very simple to find what will suit your needs when looking for Auto Insurance in Virginia.  Enter your zip code above to compare other polices to your existing one.

Cheap Rates for Virginia Auto Insurance that You Can Have

Every state in the United States has rules which govern the type of insurance required for owning a vehicle. Here, is some of the basic information regarding car insurance in Virginia.  Keep in mind that you will have to check, per the state you are living in, and follow those regulations for car insurance and registration.

The current average car insurance premium in Virginia is $1,255.77, less than the U.S. premium of $1,671.16.  However, within Virginia; two of its cities are highest of the state, Virginia Beach ($1,325.05) and Norfolk ($1,564.88). Also, if you own, or are expecting to own, the following vehicles in Virginia, look to pay even more as these happen to be the favorites of carjackers at the moment; 2005 Nissan Altima, 1999 Ford Taurus, 2009 Toyota Corolla, 1996 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee, 1999 Ford Explorer, 1997 Ford F150 Pickup, 2009 Toyota Camry, 1996 Dodge Caravan, 1999 Honda Civic, and the 1996 Honda Accord.

Also, keep in mind that car insurance in Virginia changes rates on a monthly basis and this state does have minimum requirements for its car owners. They include, Bodily Harm Liability: $25,000/$50,000 Limit, Property Damage Liability $20,000 Limit, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Harm: $25,000/$50,000 Limit, and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $20,000 Limit.  These figures are just for liability coverage.  If you choose to use more coverage, the prices will vary per insurance company.

The above requirements are a must to protect the driver and passengers as well, but the drivers have the option of increasing the dollar amount of each of the standard requirements, and the option of adding additional coverage as the driver sees fit. Regardless of the insurance company, they will all follow the standard for coverage; it is just a matter of finding the insurance company with rates that meet the financial needs of the driver.

You will need to purchase insurance before you can register your car with the state, which is also mandatory upon driving.  Proof of insurance will be required, or you can pay a UMV fee of $500 annually.  This fee does not protect you in case of an accident.  You will be liable for any and all damage caused during an accident.  You may find yourself with bills you can’t afford.

There is also a Tort system, which is a specific protocol that each state adheres to involving a vehicle accident. This is something that each state has, and each system is different. For the state of Virginia, the protocol means someone has to take responsibility for causing the mishap and that person and their insurance company is accountable for all damages.

It is important to keep these factors in mind when choosing an insurance company and also making sure that the vehicle, driver, and passengers are all covered under every aspect required in the state of Virginia. Knowing up front what you need in order to have sufficient coverage will help save a lot of time, money and effort in the long run.  To save money and get a better policy, enter your zip code above for comparisons.

Effects of Not Having Enough Auto Insurance Coverage In Virginia

There are so many regulations on auto insurance in Virginia.  The state has some of the stricter auto insurance laws in the country.  Their population has steadily grown since 1980 and is now above 8 million.  Where, on the other hand, they also have fewer issues when it comes to driving the accidents that happen within driving.  In Virginia you must have insurance or pay the fee to be uninsured, this includes antique cars and automobiles as well.  You must be insured by a company able to do business within Virginia as well.  Virginia has made sure that their drivers have a safe and hospitable environment to enjoy their vehicle.

LowCostAutoInsuranceInVirginiaIn the last 10 years, the number of drivers in Virginia has increased by about 500,000 and their number of cars insured has increased by about 1.1 million.  Taking this in to consideration one would think that, of course, their number of accidents and auto related deaths has also increased.  That is most definitely not the case.  Their number of crashes has decreased across the board.  This in turn has decreased the number of auto related deaths and injuries by an impressive percentage.  Virginia’s number of crashes both, alcohol related and non-alcohol related, has dropped by about 30%.  This greats a growing domino effect where injuries and deaths also decreased.

Virginia has some basics that your insurance provider must meet one of these is that the provider has to be authorized to conduct business within Virginia.  The company must also provide electronic updates for any major changes in your insurance, such as a cancelation of insurance or a decrease in coverage.  If you drop your insurance you must take one of three actions; you must reinsure the vehicle, pay the fee for an uninsured vehicle, or surrender your licensing plates.  The fee for an uninsured vehicle is 500$ as well as needing to complete the necessary paper work.  There is also an option to self-insure your vehicle, and for that information you must contact the local DMV where the details are readily available.   Virginia’s State Corporation Commission (SCC) is present to help keep a balance between customer, business, state and stockholders.  They are also present to help protect their citizens, the business’s customers.  They are who approves a business to operate within Virginia.

In most states you are required to have at least liability insured on your vehicle, in Virginia you must have all of the following; bodily injury/death of one person to $25,000, bodily injury/death of two people $50,000, and property damage $20,000.  These are minimal and you are suggested to have greater coverage than the bare minimal.  You must then have the insurance verified.  There are sever items that you will need to do this, but none of them are unreasonable.  A license to operate, proof that you own the vehicle, proof on insurance and proof of registration within Virginia.

By this information, it is very reasonable that Virginia would offer a few more bells and whistles to keep their drivers safe.  An honest observation says that Virginia is one of the safest and strictest states to drive in.  By entering your zip code above, you can compare your auto insurance in Virginia to others in the local area.

Comparing Policy to Get the Best Rates for Virginia Car Insurance

Flashing lights suddenly pop up in your rearview mirror.  A quick glance down to your speedometer tells you that you were traveling above the speed limit.  Panic sets in as you slow your vehicle and pull over to park on the shoulder with your flashers blinking the message that you have just been stopped for a traffic citation.  You are new to the state of Virginia and have not had time to research state laws.  Maybe you will get lucky, and the police officer will have pity on you and let you go with just a warning.  Perhaps they will be stern and insist that you have broken the law and write you a ticket.  Regardless of the outcome, you do not want to be caught in this situation.

There are some steps you can take to avoid breaking state laws for auto insurance in Virginia.  The first thing you will need to do is register your car.  You will need to establish monetary responsibility in order to register your automobile, and ensure you are protected, in the event your vehicle is involved in a traffic mishap.  The way you form financial responsibility is to purchase liability insurance from a trustworthy carrier that is licensed to sell auto insurance in the state of Virginia.  Please note that the state of Virginia offers other options verses purchasing automobile insurance.

Cash, self-insuring, surety bonds or other securities can be used but not by private passenger automobiles. There is one other option available too.  You can pay a UMV fee, Uninsured Motor Vehicle, if you choose to register a car without insurance protection.  This is an annual fee due when you renew your registry.  The minimum fee for Uninsured Motor Vehicles is $500.  Be advised that this fee does not cover any damage incurred if you are in an accident.  Without the protection of insurance, you are liable for any and all costs for damage to your vehicle and the other vehicle involved in the incident.

When purchasing insurance you will need to be aware of the state of Virginia’s liability insurance necessities.  You are required to have at least $25,000 worth of coverage for bodily harm or the death of a single person, $50,000 for bodily harm or the death of two people or more, and $20,000 for any property damage.  It is always a good idea to take it a step further and research different insurance companies and the coverage they provide.  Added coverage may seem expensive and like it isn’t worth the hassle, but you will be glad you did your homework.

So if, there is a time when you get pulled over again for any kind of traffic violation, you will know you’ve upheld the state law of Virginia and be able to provide your proof of insurance.  Don’t let the law take your license and vehicle registration away due to your negligence.  Get those automobile insurance quotes and find the perfect policy that fits you.  Auto insurance in VA is the law.  To compare your current policy, please enter your zip code above for comparisons.